2014 Pierce County Democratic Convention and LD Caucus

All Democrats of Pierce County are Called to the 2014 Pierce County Democrats Convention.
This is truly Grass Roots Politics, where your voice is heard.

Date: Saturday, April 12, 2014
Location: IBEW Hall
          3049 S. 36th Street
          Tacoma, 98409

Time:   Doors open 9:30 am   Registration 10:00    Call to Order 10:45

Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized, Upcoming Events | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

2014 Kitsap County Democratic Convention and LD Caucuses

The 2014 Kitsap County Democratic Convention and Legislative District (LD) 23, 26, and 35 Caucuses will be held Saturday, April 12, at Olympic High School, 7070 Stampede Blvd NW, Bremerton. All Democrats registered to vote in Kitsap County are invited to attend.

Registration for both the Convention and Caucuses will be between 9:00 and 10:00 AM. The Convention will officially convene at 10:00 AM. The LD Caucuses will convene during the Convention.*Donations are requested to help defray the costs of both, but are not required to participate.*

You may bring your own lunch, or enjoy snacks and beverages available onsite for purchase.

The business of the Convention shall be the adoption of a 2014 Kitsap County Democrats’ Party Platform and consideration of resolutions. Amendments to the platform and resolutions do not need to be submitted prior to the Convention. (Amendments to the platform are due at 11:00 am and resolutions must be submitted by 12:01 pm at the Convention)
Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized, Upcoming Events | Tagged , | Leave a comment

April General Membership Meeting recap

The April meeting of the 26th LD Democrats was called to order by our chair Carl Olson. Members and guests heard reports from Carl Olson (chair), Kathleen Tei (Pierce vice-chair) and Tony Otto (Kitsap vice-chair).

Treasurer George Robison gave us a brief overview of Public Disclosure Commission rules and regulations concerning donation limits.

Don Bartley, membership chair, shared that our membership grew by five members and we’re now at 25 percent of our goal.


Larry Seaquist, 26th legislative district representative, spoke about his re-election campaign briefly before turning to his legislative review. Topics covered included education, the Dream Act update, state grants and state support, the homelessness bill update, and medical marijuana.


Judy Arbogast, our candidate for state senate in the 26th district for State Senate spoke briefly.


We also heard from Nathan Schlicher, our candidate for house of Representatives (position 1).

Linda Streissguth, Kitsap county commissioner, spoke briefly about upcoming events for her campaign. Dave Peterson, Kitsap County Clerk, gave us a re-election update and explained services that the county clerk office provides. Finishing out our speakers for the evening was Paul Andrews who is running for the Kitsap county assessor position.

Good of the Order was announced and Lynda Filson spoke on behalf of the Gig Harbor Foundation to thank the 26th LD Democrats for volunteering for the Big Sports Gig in Gig Harbor. River Curtis-Stanley announced an option for carpooling to the State Convention in Spokane.

Our next meeting will be held on Thursday March 1, 2014 at Givens Community Center, Port Orchard, WA. Social reception begins at 6:30 pm while our meeting starts at 7 pm.


Special thanks to Nove and Barbara Meyers for our monthly after meeting get-together held at Everybody’s Cookhouse and Sports Theater.

Posted in 26th LD Democrats meeting, Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment